North Harbour Business Hall of Fame revitalised
The North Harbour Business Hall of Fame has been revitalised with its first two new members, Paul and Liz Blackwell, recently inducted at a North Harbour Club fundraising lunch at QBE Stadium in Albany.
North Harbour Club's Business Hall of Fame Chairperson Matthew Bellingham says, "After a five-year break the North Harbour Club is proud to take over the Business Hall of Fame and I couldn't think of a more deserving couple being inducted and to mark the beginning of a new era of recognising business success in the region."
Paul and Liz own Pak'n Save Albany, the SkyCity Breakers, and publishing company PQ Blackwell. They are also great believers in giving back to the community and youth, and their philanthropy is wide reaching.
Their mentoring and support of the Breakers has turned New Zealand basketball around. Since first taking ownership of the team 11 years ago they have won 4 Australian NBL Championships within 5 years, sadly missing out on their 5th last week, and have grown a reputation as New Zealand’s most successful sporting franchise both on and off the court.
"Their considerable donations to a range of organisations cannot be quantified in dollars – whilst significant, it’s their ethics, family values and astute business minds provided to organisations that makes them so incredible," Matthew says.
"They are a truly inspirational couple who have achieved so much and who contribute so much, yet are so humble in their everyday lives. I am honoured to be able to show my respect for them as business leaders and as genuinely great people."
Matthew adds that the North Harbour Club is excited to re-invigorate the Business Hall of Fame. "We're fortunate to have so many inspirational leaders that either live in our region or have their main place of work in our region and who apply their wealth of experience to benefit our community. It is a privilege to be involved in recognising these people."
Photo:  (From left) Paul and Liz Blackwell with Business Hall of Fame Chairperson Matthew Bellingham.